glsl bloom shader

Hi,
I’m currently working on making an computer game and I’ve searched the whole internet for an glsl bloom shader that works on ATI cards. Found nothing, so I had to make my own one. Here it is. Have fun.

uniform sampler2D bgl_RenderedTexture;

void main()
{
   vec4 sum = vec4(0);
   vec2 texcoord = vec2(gl_TexCoord[0]);
   int j;
   int i;

   for( i= -4 ;i < 4; i++)
   {
        for (j = -3; j < 3; j++)
        {
            sum += texture2D(bgl_RenderedTexture, texcoord + vec2(j, i)*0.004) * 0.25;
        }
   }
       if (texture2D(bgl_RenderedTexture, texcoord).r < 0.3)
    {
       gl_FragColor = sum*sum*0.012 + texture2D(bgl_RenderedTexture, texcoord);
    }
    else
    {
        if (texture2D(bgl_RenderedTexture, texcoord).r < 0.5)
        {
            gl_FragColor = sum*sum*0.009 + texture2D(bgl_RenderedTexture, texcoord);
        }
        else
        {
            gl_FragColor = sum*sum*0.0075 + texture2D(bgl_RenderedTexture, texcoord);
        }
    }
}
13 thoughts on “glsl bloom shader”

  1. YESSS! Thanks a bundle! I had everything in my HDR pipeline working (hi-pass and such) except blooming of highlight values! This did the trick!

  2. Very nice shader
    i use this code to understand the power of glsl code and test it with DELTA3D OSG (prerender test)
    good job
    best regards

  3. Hello…I’m new in GLSL. I tried to place your code in my fragment shader, but I don’t know what I have to write in the main opengl file. Can you help me?

  4. Hi ! Nice ! and thanks for this piece of code. I’m a beginner and have a question.
    Could you confirm that we need to render the scene to a textured quad in front of screen and using this shader for only for this “scene quad” ?
    Also, I only see a fragment shader code but no vertex shader. Is it possible to only bind a fragment shader without vertex shader ?
    Thanks in advance for your answer.

Leave a Reply

